The price of this online defensive driving course is $24.95. This includes the course itself, your certificate of completion and your results being reported to the TDLR. There are no hidden fees, payments for certificate processing or other extra add-on charges.
When you’re shopping for a defensive driving class in Austin, Houston or anywhere else in Texas, be very mindful of what you are actually paying for. Buying a heavily discounted cheap defensive driving course online is not always the best choice as the price advertised by many schools is usually not the final amount you will have to pay to get your certificate of completion. Many schools use shady tactics to force you into paying more – you may have to pay an additional “certificate processing fee”, “state surcharge”, “certificate delivery fee”, or end up waiting for weeks to receive your certificate of completion via regular mail. Make sure you know what you are paying for when you sign up for the cheapest defensive driving in Texas.
The certificate of completion will be made available to you once you complete the entire program and there are no extra charges for the service. Depending on when you complete the program, the certificate of completion will arrive either the same day, or on the following business day, at the latest. Instant certificate delivery is also available. As a modern school, we offer the online defensive driving course in Texas with printable certificate, so you will not have to wait until it arrives through snail mail.
The first step to successfully submitting the certificate to court is signing it. Many students make the mistake of forwarding the certificate to court without a signature, however, most courts will refuse to accept the certificate unless it is signed by the student. This is the primary reason why defensive driving schools do not send certificates directly to court – without the student’s signature, the certificate is not valid.
Depending on the court that is processing your case, you may either email your Texas defensive driving certificate, send it via fax or regular mail. Some courts may even require you to bring the certificate in person.
If you were not provided instructions on how to submit the certificate, be sure to double-check this with the courthouse.
No, it is not. While completing the course can help you clear a speeding ticket or a different type of violation, many drivers choose to take the course voluntarily for an additional insurance discount. Completing defensive driving for insurance discounts is a great way to save money, considering the low price of the program and the fact that many insurance agents will provide a discount of up to 10% for as long as three years after the completion of the program. The defensive driving course practically pays for itself.
When it comes to ticket dismissal, you can complete the Texas defensive driving course once a year (every 12 months). Note that the court will not check your eligibility – it is your responsibility to ensure that you have not taken the course within the last 12 months. You can provide proof of this by submitting a certified type 3A driving record along with your certificate of completion (most courts will require you to do so).
This is the fastest defensive driving course in Texas allowed by law and it takes 6 hours to complete. You do not have to do the entire course at once and can split it into as many study sessions as you wish – your course progress will be tracked automatically.
Taking a Texas online defensive driving course is very straightforward, but may require some preparation. When you receive a citation, you can expect the court to send you a notice with your options within 2-3 weeks. The notice will show whether you are eligible, provide you with a list of Texas state-approved defensive driving courses and set the due date for course completion.
Note that some courts set a due date for course completion, while others expect to receive the certificate by that date.
Once you have permission to take the course from court:
- Sign up for the online defensive driving class
- Complete your lessons
- Receive your Texas defensive driving certificate through email and print it
- Sign the certificate
- Forward the certificate to the court
You may want to follow up with the court within a week or two of submitting your results to make sure they were successfully processed.
Our course comes with a pass guarantee and there is no final test at the end of the course, so there is no way for you to fail your defensive driving class! If you do not complete the course in time (and the certificate of completion is not issued), you are eligible for a refund.
There are not that many requirements you have to worry about when considering whether you are eligible to participate in a Texas defensive driving course. Defensive driving is not available to you if you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or a commercial driving permit. You must receive permission to take the course from the court that is processing your case.
You can typically complete a Texas defensive driving class online or in a classroom for the following types of violations:
- Speeding, going 25 mph or more over the speed limit
- Failing to stop for a school bus
- Committing a violation in a construction zone
- Running from an accident